Indie Interests

Origami

I love origami. Don’t misunderstand, I can’t make more than a paper cup. I love looking at it though, and I really respect that it can be an art form. I’m featuring one product from each of these awesome artists, but please go to their shops! All of them make a slew of beautiful, creative things, and I wish I could show them all.

In lieu of that, I’ll show you one of my favorites from each shop.

Red Origami Earrings by Origami Dolly

Red Origami Earrings by Origami Dolly

Origami Dolly offers the most beautiful origami earrings! I love the contrast of metal with paper, and the lovely traditional patterns on the paper. Each is sealed with lacquer to give it a strong, water resistant, glossy finish. They are so elegant!

Kawasaki rose bobby pin by Girlfriend n Boyfriend

Kawasaki rose bobby pin by Girlfriend n Boyfriend

Girlfriend n Boyfriend makes this adorable bobby pin. Really, how pretty! Each bobby pin has a water resistant coating, and would be a beautiful piece for, say, a flower girl in a wedding.

Set of 4 Origami Crane cards by Lovely Element

Set of 4 Origami Crane cards by Lovely Element

Lovely Element created a four pack of these beautiful origami cards. Pick any combination of the three pictured – each is blank inside, and I can think of, oh, a million uses for them! It’s a handmade touch for those without the time (or the Martha Stewart skills) to make a handmade card for every occasion.

Origami Crane Necklace by Frolicking Folds

Origami Crane Necklace by Frolicking Folds

Frolicking Folds does these adorable little crane necklaces. You might have noticed, I’m a huge fan of anything in a little bottle as a necklace, and if it’s going to be anything, why not a good luck charm?

Nostalgia Kusudama by Oru (to fold)

Nostalgia Kusudama by Oru (to fold)

Oru (to fold) has these decorative Kusudama, which are great for a desk decoration, or even the “bow” of a really unique and special gift. The Nostalgia Kusudama is made from the pages of Golden Books, which most of us know from childhood! Well named, Oru, well named.

Pastel Origami Earrings by Mohu

Pastel Origami Earrings by Mohu

Mohu is one of my favorite little shops, and these earrings are a perfect example of why. Adorable, yet pretty. Sweet, yet quirky. Each origami ball is made using 6 small squares of paper, just 2 cm wide. 2 cm. I don’t think I have that kind of patience, so I’m glad there’s someone out there who does.

Eco Chic Paper Pouch by Laalicia

Eco Chic Paper Pouch by Laalicia

Laalicia makes “Eco Chic” accessories, folding paper into these amazing upcycled goodies. This cutie protects your moolah and the environment. Awesome!

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever made with paper?

Leave a Reply

