Weekly What’s Up

Oh my waffles.

This week has kicked my tookus. The week started with a family member in the hospital and ended the same way. Bah.

Needless to say, this might be my least photo-intense ramble ever! Also, don’t worry, she’s okay. Nothing some surgery couldn’t fix, thankfully.

So, lots of trips to the hospital took up most of my week. I did, however, get to spend some time with my sister, soon-to-be brother-in-law, and their two adorable little girls. This goodness is going to take up most of this post, as I regale you with my near-death experience at the hands of… an air mattress. I’m not kidding.

I slept on an air mattress in the living room, which is totally normal. What was not normal, however, was waking up at 3am suffocating. Literally. The mattress had deflated enough that I was laying on the floor, but there was enough air to force my pillow around my head.

I naturally freaked out, gasping for breath and jerking away from my pillow…which sent me flopping off of the mattress and rolling head-first into the couch. Yes, I’m a graceful swan. Try to contain your jealousy.

Well, I was exhausted and not a happy camper, so I turned the air pump on, intent on sleeping away my brand new headache. Once I turned it off and sat back down, however… “HHHHSSSSSSSSSS”

Clearly, there was a rather notable hole somewhere in the mattress. I got to play Find The Air Mattress Hole at 3am, followed shortly by a rousing 20 minute game of Where Does My Sister Keep Her Tape! 4 strips of painters tape later, I was back in business.

Finally, I was about to drift off to sweet sleep…and the phone rang. *sigh*

I did also have a serious comfort-food craving, given the situation. I had a full day of chocolate-making to indulge myself. Homemade chocolate syrup, homemade chocolate chips, and chocolate chip cookie dough truffles.

Chocolate syrup in the making. The coconut oil to the side is for the chocolate chips that followed.

Chocolate syrup in the making. The coconut oil to the side is for the chocolate chips that followed.

I managed to get a post for Storenvy owners done while I was hanging out in the hospital, too.

So, that was my week. Sorry, no pictures of me in my jammies, suffocating in my sister’s living room.

3 responses to “Weekly What’s Up

  1. I am glad you did not die in an air mattress debacle! I have only ever used an air mattress three times (all camping) and I hated it every single time. I’ve sworn off them lol.
    And all you chocolatey goodness is making me drool. . . .mmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

