Weekly What’s Up

Yay!

This week started off on a great note. I was so excited to see another package from A Single Dream arrive! Look at my new lovelies – now my biggest problem will be which ones to wear!

My peacock pretties from A Single Dream

My peacock pretties from A Single Dream

A closer look at all that gorgeous.

A closer look at all that gorgeous.

Yep, that totally made Monday less… well, Monday-ish.

Tuesday was also quite enjoyable, because I got to make my 6 ingredient Chocolate Macadamia Nut Spread, and write up a blog post about it. I love recipe posts. I especially love ones that are easy, and healthier than they look.

Wednesday was hot. That’s really all I can say about it, though I did get to work with a new design client. Angela Pickowicz Fitness, welcome to my world. 😉 Otherwise, I tried to not make any sudden movements that would drown me in the heat. Here’s what Uno thought of it:

Uno Mid-Heatwave

Uno mid-heatwave

Thursday – Happy Independence Day! Dan and I went to his aunt and uncle’s house for a fantastic family dinner. As always, love seeing the family. Especially since a few members came up from out of state!

The next day, like the previous few, were over 90 outside, so that was obviously the best time to bake some bread. Yeah, I don’t plan these things well. I always have the worst cravings to bake in super hot weather, and I really crave ice cream when it’s freezing out. It is what it is. That, and I wanted chocolate milk but we were out of syrup, so I just had to make some. Oh, you don’t make yours? Well, now you do:

1 1/4 Cups water

1 1/2 Cups sugar (or 3/4 Cups Truvia Baking Blend, which I use)

1 Cup cocoa powder

1 Tbsp vanilla extract

1 dash salt

Heat everything except vanilla extract in saucepan on low-medium heat, stirring constantly. Continue for 5 or so minutes, until the sauce thickens slightly, then remove from heat and add your vanilla. It will be thin; put in an airtight container and refrigerate. It will thicken more once chilled, and keep for about a month.

You’re welcome. 😉 Seriously, this stuff is richer-tasting than that famous bottled stuff – without all the high-fructose corn syrup. Give it a try, worst-case scenario is you bump up or down on the ingredients until you like it.

Chocolate Syrup and Milk

Chocolate Syrup and Milk

Saturday was again a scorcher, so of course I made some sugar cookies. Seriously, baking in the heat is like a sick addiction. I have yet to find a cure. It was for a good reason, though…

Sunday we got to spend the day with a good friend and her little one at an awesome 3rd birthday party. So much cute! It was actually our friend’s birthday, her daughter’s was three days before, so it was a double-whammy of birthday fun. 🙂 Those sugar cookies from the day before met up with some of that macadamia nut spread for a birthday surprise.

And a partridge in a pear tree! Whew.

What did you do for Independence Day this week?

4 responses to “Weekly What’s Up

  1. GOOD GRAVY I am SOOOOO happy about this homemade chocolate syrup!!!! We love choco milk and I cringe every time I give my little miss some because of all the HFCS. This is amazing! Thank you thank you!!

  2. Pingback: Last Week We. . . | An Open Sketchbook·

  3. Pingback: Making Fruit Popsicles | An Open Sketchbook·

Leave a Reply

