Mini Cheesecakes

Mini Cheesecakes

I know, who doesn’t love cheesecake? Before those of you on a diet stomp your foot in frustration – don’t. These cheesecakes are small in serving size, and my recipe uses Truvia and EggBeaters to keep your counts down. Did I mention it doesn’t sacrifice flavor? I’ve made it with traditional ingredients and the healthier alternatives; there is no difference in taste. I Promise.

In addition to being a super reasonable indulgence, these are perfect for parties. Make a couple of batches of these cuties, and put out little bowls of toppings for a make your own dessert buffet. People will think you spent a ton of time and energy. Frankly, you can do at least 3 dozen of these beauties in an hour. Congrats for looking like Martha Stewart without the effort.

What you need:

  • topping(s) of choice
  • 12              vanilla cookies
  • 16 oz.        cream cheese, softened
  • 2               eggs OR egg substitute
  • 2 Tbsp.      lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp.      vanilla extract
  • C           white sugarOR⅓ C         Truvia Baking Blend sugar

  • medium mixing bowl
  • electric mixer
  • muffin tin
  • muffin cups

In case you aren’t familiar with Truvia, it’s super sweet. In fact, it’s about twice as sweet as regular sugar, meaning you use less than you normally would. This recipe might work with regular Truvia instead of the baking blend, but as I’ve never tried it that way I can’t really say. You could probably use low-fat cream cheese, but again I haven’t tried that. If anyone tries either/both let me know and I’ll add your results here!

Ingredients

I was so excited to make these I almost forgot to take an ingredients shot, so ignore the fact I’m missing my cream cheese!

You’ll notice this shot is cookie-free, and that’s not just my excited rush like the cream cheese. I skipped the cookies this time and went crust free out of personal preference…okay, and I was out of cookies. We’re not huge cookie nibblers around here.

Making this couldn’t get much easier, even the kiddos can help. Which is good, because I forgot to take some process shots. Sorry. The promise of cheesecake was just too much!

Paper monster cup, clearly a remnant from Halloween. Too cute not to use, though!

Paper monster cup, clearly a remnant from Halloween. Too cute not to use, though!

What to do:

Preheat your oven to 350°F. Get your tin and put some liners in; I prefer paper for this, but tinfoil works too. Then, if you’re not going cookie-free, drop a whole cookie in each cup. No crushing or pre-bake needed. You’re welcome.

Drop your cream cheese in the bowl and gradually bring your mixer up to medium, continuing until it’s fluffy. This should take just a couple of minutes and doesn’t have to be perfect – you’ll beat it more along the way.

Next, I usually add the eggs to loosen it up a bit, still on medium speed. Drop in your vanilla and lemon juice as well. Follow that by adding your sugar slowly, letting it incorporate as you go. Don’t forget to scrape down the edges of the bowl to make sure all of the cream cheese and sugar get mixed in; it has a tendency to stick to the edges and you get what I call shock-bombs later. You want this to be smooth and creamy.

Grab whatever you used to scrape down the bowl edges and start plopping the mixture into your muffin cups. You want to fill them about 2/3 full, but it’s not an exact science. They won’t puff up and out quite like cakes do, so your overflow worries are minimal.

Let them get all toasty in the oven for 15-17 minutes, depending on your oven. Then, let them cool on a rack.

6 little cheesecakes cooling

6 little cheesecakes cooling

A mini cheesecake close-up

I’m ready for my close-up!

My toaster grippy thing finger saver. I know, good name, right?

My toaster grippy thing finger saver. I know, good name, right?

If you’re crunched for time, let them cool for about 10 minutes and pull the cups out of the tin to cool on a trivet. I like to use this little doodad. (Technically it’s for getting toast out of your toaster. Shhh.)

Mini cheesecake fresh out of the tin!

Fresh out of the tin!

On the recipe card (yup, you’re getting a recipe card) it says cool and serve. You can totally do that, but I recommend putting it in the fridge for an hour or more if you can to help it firm up. Besides, I think cool cheesecake just tastes better!

Grab your favorite toppings and go to town! You can use fresh fruit, canned pie filling, chocolate syrup, or anything else that strikes your fancy. I cheated and used Hershey’s Syrup on mine this time, but I love the cocoa syrup recipe from Alton Brown.

Finished Cheesecake. Aw, so pretty. Hubby got fancy with the syrup!

Aw, so pretty. Hubby got fancy with the syrup!

I’m not sure I can count the ways I love this recipe. It’s a basic recipe, so there’s a million different ways to customize it and make it your own. Crazy quick, you can have these ready in 30 minutes with no problem and it looks like you really put some effort in. The healthier version tastes just as good as the original. It’s great for any party, especially kid parties because it’s all portioned out and no messy frosting – you’re on your own if you put out syrup though. 😉

Handy Dandy:

I know no one wants to read my ramblings when they’re trying to cook, so here’s a little gift from me to you – recipe cards! These are 4×6, so they should fit on standard index cards.

Mini Cheesecake Ingredients

Mini Cheesecake Ingredients

Mini Cheesecake Directions

Mini Cheesecake Directions

2 responses to “Mini Cheesecakes

Leave a Reply

